Taikei no Yuurei wrote:And there are of course drawbacks, because you might end up having to raze the city to deny a force that was so small you'd have been able to fight them off otherwise, but overall it seems like a reasonable strategy for a side like Haffaton that is large and needs to maintain cities with minimal defensive troops.
Haffaton wouldn't be a large side for long if they surrender every city site immediately to any force that approaches, even friendly forces that have no intention of attacking. Remember that unled units will attack any unallied units they encounter. Even if they manage to successfully hold on to the city site without the benefit of defensive walls, I'm certain that rebuilding a city costs much more than the shmuckers that you get from razing it, so that strategy would probably be hugely expensive.
Scouts have been shown to be able to avoid the auto attack thing, otherwise they'd be quite useless at scouting if they just died any time they found any sort of units. And the scout, if placed right at the hex border with the city for example, would likely be able to get some form of intel report on enemy numbers or intent before being found and croaked (if the force is hostile). Like I said, this could lead to problems with losing cities to otherwise fightable enemies, but given the non-existent level of defense in Haffaton cities, that doesn't seem like a serious loss. And razing a city and then rebuilding it is alot cheaper than having an enemy capture a city, raze it, then you still have to rebuild it. At least you get some portion of the cost recouped by razing it yourself, not to mention denying the enemy those funds.
So yeah, not a perfect system, but potentially exploitable, especially by someone like parson (Thinkamancer makes the scouts able to give instant reports. If he gets a Predictamancer to help him out, she could tell him if a city will be attacked or not, then preemptively raze it, etc.) So, it might or might not be allowed, but my gut says it wouldn't be, though we really don't know.
LordAcme wrote:They actually can wait for GK's turn tomorrow. Bodies that have been moved are considered trophies and don't depop (Book 0). They'll decay, but that doesn't appear to be a consideration because of Decryption.
Checkov's gun suggests that having this rule means Parson's going to use it....maybe? I didn't think of it yesterday.
It's already been used by Wanda in Book 0.