General Erfworld Rules Discussion

Your new games, homebrews, mods and ideas. Forum games go here.

General Erfworld Rules Discussion

Postby Nihila » Sat Jul 24, 2010 1:46 pm

In this forum, there are a lot of games and rules, and I thought it might be a good idea to have a thread to just talk about rules. This is for people to post any ideas, thoughts, and criticisms, with the eventual purpose of having a set of rules that is the Ruleset Of Everything (in Erfworld). Obviously, this will take a long time, as the actual rules are still being revealed to us, but I hope that we, as Erfworld fans, can enjoy the process of guessing at the rules.

I know that some games are attempting similar things already, but this thread is not about actually starting a game, "just" about the rules that a "perfect" game might have.

I am not an expert on game design, in fact, probably the opposite is more true, but one way to evaluate a full ruleset would be along the following criteria:
1) Creativity: In the comic, we see many unit types, from Dwagons to Doombats and from Siege Towers to Spidews. Anyone playing an Erfworld game should have the chance to create their own units.
2) Balance: Generally, at the beginning, no side should have any greater chance of winning, and more specifically, any unit better than another should have a longer time to produce and a greater upkeep than the weaker unit.
3) Loyalty to the Comic: Really, this is the biggest one. The rules should allow for all the units we see in the comic, with all of their abilities intact. With the exception (possibly) of Arkentools, the comic should be the guide to the rules, and direct statements (statements that are not subject to interpretation) from the comic should overrule all objections.