Wiki:Could "Random Page" overlook panel pages?

What features and fixes would you like to see here at erfworld.com?

Wiki:Could "Random Page" overlook panel pages?

Postby Rekov » Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:09 pm

I was wondering if it was possible for the Random Page link on the wiki to bypass the hundreds of wiki pages about specific panels of specific erfworld pages. It is impossible to browse other pages randomly due to the sheer number of these panel pages.
Rekov
I am a Tool!
I am a Tool!

Re: Wiki:Could "Random Page" overlook panel pages?

Postby harknell » Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:11 pm

Hmm, I'm no expert on wiki hacks. Does anyone know if there is a way to exclude certain pages from this function?
Webmaster for the comic Stupid and Insane Defenders Against Chaos: http://www.onezumi.com
Webmaster for the comic Erfworld: http://www.erfworld.com
harknell
Site Admin

Postby SteveMB » Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:58 pm

According to the description on MediaWiki, putting those pages into a custom namespace would remove them from the "random page" mix (which only uses the main namespace).

(Addendum: To remove pages from the "random" search, they should be in a namespace that is not defined as a "content" namespace.)

That said, before doing anything we ought to find out from the people who wrote the templates used in the page-view and frame-view pages whether or not moving these pages to a new namespace would break stuff. :?:
Is this a real holy war, or just a bunch of deluded boopholes croaking each other?
SteveMB
Tool + YOTD + Erfabet Supporter!

Postby Rekov » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:12 pm

Does anyone know who these people are? Are the forums the appropriate way to contact these people, or is there a way to do it in the wiki itself?
Rekov
I am a Tool!
I am a Tool!

Postby doran » Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:01 am

MarbitChow wrote: Don't you get it yet? WE ARE THE MAGIC KINGDOM.